John L. Sarrao

John L. Sarrao

Principal Associate Director for Science, Technology, and Engineering, Los Alamos National Laboratory

As of April 2018, John Sarrao is the Principal Associate Director for Science, Technology and Engineering (PADSTE) at Los Alamos National Laboratory. As PADSTE, he leads the Laboratory’s science, technology, and engineering capabilities, overseeing a $1.2B organization with 3,000 staff. PADSTE spans the Laboratory’s directorates for Chemistry, Life & Earth Sciences; Engineering Sciences; Experimental Physical Sciences; and Theory, Simulation, and Computation. John stewards LANL’s Laboratory Directed Research & Development (LDRD) program and other institutional capability initiatives, including the Laboratory’s student and post-doc programs. He also serves as LANL’s Chief Research Officer.
From 2013 to 2018, John served as LANL’s Associate Director for Theory, Simulation, and Computation (AD-TSC). As AD-TSC, he led the Laboratory’s efforts in applying science-based prediction to existing and emerging national security missions. TSC spans LANL’s Theoretical; Computer, Computational, and Statistical Sciences; and High Performance Computing organizations. John also played a national leadership role in the Exascale Computing Project. Previously, Sarrao was the Program Director for Los Alamos’s Office of Science Programs, and for MaRIE (Matter-Radiation Interactions in Extremes), LANL’s signature facility concept which will provide transformational materials solutions for national security challenges.

John has held a number of leadership positions within LANL’s materials community, including Division Leader of the Materials Physics and Applications Division and Group Leader of Condensed Matter and Thermal Physics. John has also served on a number of U.S. Department of Energy Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) Subcommittees, helping to set strategic directions for materials research.

John’s primary research interest is in the synthesis and characterization of correlated electron systems, especially actinide materials. He was the 2013 winner of the Department of Energy’s E.O. Lawrence Award and the 2004 winner of the LANL Fellows Prize for Research, in part for his discovery of the first plutonium superconductor. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Physical Society (APS), and Los Alamos National Laboratory. John received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Los Angeles based on thesis work performed at LANL.

Plenary Panel P5 – The Future of Big Science

A celebration of big science and its future. This series of three panels discusses the history of the National Laboratories and big science – past, present and future.